Find out more information on working hours and sample turnaround at NWSS over the festive period.
 

With the festive season approaching, Northumbrian Water Scientific Services would like to make our customers aware of the sample delivery and reporting dates for before and after Christmas and into the New Year.

 

Sample turnarounds during this time for standard Inorganic, Organic & Micro analysis will be as follows:


(Dioxins, Organotins, Legionella and any subcontracted analysis have 15 working day turnarounds)

 

For samples received on 10 Day Turnaround 15 Day Turnaround
Monday 02 December 2019 16/12/2019 23/12/2019
Tuesday 03 December 2019 17/12/2019 27/12/2019
Wednesday 04 December 2019 18/12/2019 27/12/2019
Thursday 05 December 2019 19/12/2019 27/12/2019
Friday 06 December 2019 20/12/2019 30/12/2019
     
Monday 09 December 2019 23/12/2019 30/12/2019
Tuesday 10 December 2019 27/12/2019 02/01/2020
Wednesday 11 December 2019 27/12/2019 02/01/2020
Thursday 12 December 2019 30/12/2019 03/01/2020
Friday 13 December 2019 30/12/2019 06/01/2020
     
Monday 16 December 2019 02/01/2020 09/01/2020
Tuesday 17 December 2019 03/01/2020 10/01/2020
Wednesday 18 December 2019 06/01/2020 13/01/2020
Thursday 19 December 2019 07/01/2020 14/01/2020
Friday 20 December 2019 08/01/2020 15/01/2020
     
Monday 23 December 2019 09/01/2020 17/01/2020
Tuesday 24 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday 25 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday 26 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday 27 December 2019 13/01/2020 21/01/2020
     
Monday 30 December 2019 14/01/2020 22/01/2020
Tuesday 31 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday 01 January 2020 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday 02 January 2020 16/01/2020 23/01/2020
Friday 03 January 2020 17/01/2020 24/01/2020

 

To ensure samples are analysed within stability time:

  • Samples requiring BOD analysis should be received no later than 18/12/2019
  • Taste and Odour samples for Hanningfield and Horsley to be received by no later than 18/12/2019 before 12pm
  • Legionella, Pseudomonas & Algae analysis for our Hanningfield Laboratory should be received no later than 19/12/2019 before 12pm and for Horsley Laboratory 16/12/2019 before 12pm
  • Any analysis that requires subcontracting should be received no later than 17/12/2019 if the analysis is required to be analysed within stability – this currently includes VOC’s due to ongoing instrument issues in house

 

Normal sample submission will resume 02/01/2020.

 

 

Our office/laboratory hours during this time will be:

 

Date Laboratory Hours Office Hours
Monday 23 December 2019 09:00 - 16:30 09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday 24 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday 25 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday 26 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday 27 December 2019 09:00 - 16:00 10:00 - 16:00
     
Monday 30 December 2019 09:00 - 16:00 10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday 31 December 2019 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday 01 January 2020 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday 02 January 2020 09:00 - 16:30 09:00 - 17:00
Friday 03 January 2020 09:00 - 16:30 09:00 - 17:00

 

To ensure sample stability is not compromised during this period, please where possible refrain from submitting time critical samples as stability of samples during this time cannot be guaranteed and results may be indicative.

 

If you intend on submitting large batches of samples during this period please contact the team to advise of batch sizes and also date of submission.

 

If you require further information regarding sample stability please contact us via email on nwss.customer@nwl.co.uk or by phone on 0191 2968336.

 

We′d like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued custom and to wish you a Happy Christmas and a Prosperous New Year!